Brian Mitchell, President

Brian MitchellBrian Mitchell assumed the presidency as of July 1, 2015. Brian directs choirs at Mark Morris High School in Longview, WA and has served as the Music Coordinator for the Longview School District. In 2016 Brian assumes an administrative position in the Longview schools. and will no longer direct school choirs.

In addition to his high school directing experiences, he has also been a church choir director and worship team leader, directed the community choir and jazz choir at Lower Columbia College, and has been the co-artist director of the Columbian Choral Ensemble, a community choir in Longview/Kelso and plans to “reconvene” that ensemble this year.

Brian has served on the Washington State ACDA Board since the summer of 2009 as the High School R&S Chair. Brian earned his bachelor degree in Music Education from Central Washington University where he studied under Geoffery Boers and John Moawad. He later earned his Master’s Degree in Music Education at CWU, studying with Vijay Singh, Kristen Korb, and Karyl Carlson.
He would like to expand the influence and relevance of the Washington Chapter of the ACDA, building on the wonderful Summer Institute, the training choir workshops, and church music workshops.

Julie Parsons, President-Elect

Julie ParsonsJulie Parsons is the Managing Director for The Inverse Opera. She holds a BA in Vocal Performance from Central College (IA) and a MM in Choral Conducting from New England Conservatory, and is currently working toward her DMA from the University of Washington.

She has conducted choirs and orchestras in London, Boston, as well as the West Coast. Julie is a regular Musical Director for Youth Theatre Northwest, as well as musical directing for New Door Theatrics and the University of Washington.

She serves Maplewood Presbyterian Church as Worship Coordinator, and is a member of the ACDA National Technology Committee.

Tim Fitzpatrick, Vice President

fitzpatrick-98wTim Fitzpatrick is the Vice-President for WA-ACDA. He served as president from July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2015. Tim received his Bachelor of Arts from Western Washington University in Bellingham and his Master of Music from The University of Texas in Austin. As a resident of San Francisco, he freelanced as choral conductor, church musician, accompanist and vocal coach, studying choral conducting San Francisco State University.

Since returning to Bellingham he served as collaborative accompanist at Western Washington University earned a second Master of Music degree in choral conducting and was recently tenured WWU as Associate Professor of Choral Music and Vocal Education. Tim is the emeritus artistic director and founder of the Bellingham Chamber Chorale. Active as a guest conductor, choral adjudicator, and clinician throughout the Northwest and Canada, he has served eight years on the executive board of Washington State ACDA.

Appointed Board Members

Tom McVicker
Tom McVicker
Linda Moore
Secretary, Membership
Shekela Wanyama
Howard Meharg
Howard Meharg
Mike Allen
Mike Allen
Jolyn Glenn
Jolyn Glenn
Eastern Liaison
Heather Garbes
Western Liaison

Repertoire and Resources Board Members

Darcy Morrissey
Community Youth
pasted image 98x1302
Mike Scott

pasted image 98x130
Justin Raffa
Community Choirs
Dean Luethi
Collegiate Choirs
Aimee Mell
Multi-Cultural Music
Ailisa Newhall
Commercial Music
Reg Unterseher
pasted image 98x1309
Ken Owen
Two-Year Colleges
pasted image 98x1308
Matt Johnson High School
pasted image 98x1307
Joel Karn
Women’s Choirs
Allan Andrews Retired Members
pasted image 98x1306
Aly Henniger
Student Representative
pasted image 98x1305
Rhonda Slinkard
Middle School – Junior High
pasted image 98x1304
Mike Iverson
Men’s Choirs
pasted image 98x1303
Alison Askeland
Music in Worship
Jason Saunders
Student Activities